NEW MEXICO REGULATIONS
ATTENTION: This document is not intended to be an exhaustive OHV reference. Consult the New Mexico Department of Game & Fish website for complete OHV laws, regulations and statutes.
This document is not to be used as a substitution for New Mexico Statutes 66-3-1001 to 66-3-1020 or Title 18 of the New Mexico Administrative Code. It is intended to provide basic information only regarding the requirements for OHVs and users, and is not a complete resource for OHV compliance or New Mexico law. It is your responsibility to know and comply with the law.
NMOHVA, NMOHVA.org, its officers, directors, finances or membership cannot be held liable or responsible in any way, shape or form for this document's content, inaccuracies, use, misuse, or interpretation. The reader or user is solely responsible for knowing New Mexico OHV laws, regulations and statutes, and must inquire with appropriate authorities for up-to-date laws, regulations or statutes regarding OHV operation.
Protect Your Right to Ride and Recreate!
KNOW THE LAW and comply with it. New Mexico’s OHV regulations can be found at www.b4uride.com.
Vehicles that are OHVs and operate on public lands must be registered, including:
- All-terrain vehicles (ATVs)
- Off-road vehicles (ORVs, UTVs, etc.)
Riders under 18 must:
- Wear an approved (e.g., DOT), securely fastened helmet.
- Wear approved, protective eye wear.
- Never carry a passenger, even on OHVs designed for two persons.
- Be visually supervised when operating an OHV, unless:
- They are 13 years old or above with a valid motorcycle license, or
- They are 15 years old or above with a valid driver's license
- Complete a certified OHV course (NMDG&F class), obtain and carry a safety permit (NMOHVA encourages a 'hands-on' OHV training course in addition to any web-based or online course).
- Must be under the supervision of a guardian, parent or someone responsible for the under-18 rider and his riding behavior and practices.
- No ATV shall be operated without a lighted headlight and taillight when visibility is limited.
Riders under 10 years old may only operate age-appropriate, size-fit ATVs.
Riders under 6 may not operate an ATV on public land.
Stay on the Road or Trail!
- Please STAY ON THE ROADS AND TRAILS or don't ride.
- Practice good trail etiquette. There are many good resources for etiquette education:
- If you don't know the law or what is legal to ride in the area, ASK the appropriate land management agency office for an official map(s) of the designated roads, trails and areas.
The New Mexico Department of Game & Fish can be contacted at 800.366.4868 to report any illegal sign posting, littering, or OHV violation.